Enriching the arts environment in Southern California and beyond, the Center for World Music has a long-standing tradition of supporting performing artists and ensembles, as well as bringing master teachers of traditional performing arts from abroad to San Diego for extended residencies.

On this page you will find lists of our teaching artists, ensembles-in-residence, and distinguished visiting artists.

2017–2018 Teaching Artists in Residence

Cultures Teaching Artists Traditions / Activities
India (East) Shibani Patnaik Odissi Folk and Classical Dance
India (North) Miles Shrewsbery North Indian Tabla
India (North) Sufi Raina Indian Kathak Dance
India (North) Rahul Neuman North Indian Sitar
Middle East (Iran) Kourosh Taghavi Persian Music and Singing
Indonesia (Java) Djoko Walujo Javanese Gamelan Orchestra
Indonesia (Bali) Andrea Hernandez Balinese Gamelan Orchestra
Indonesia (Bali) Hirotaka Inuzuka Balinese Gamelan Orchestra
Australia Randin Graves Aboriginal Didjeridoo
Philippines Bernard Ellorin Music of the Philippines
Africa (Guinea) Amara Camara African Drumming and Dance
Africa (Kenya) Peter Mathenge African Music and Dance
Africa (Senegal) Ibrahima Ba African Guitar and Singing
Africa (Zimbabwe) Garit Imhoff Shona Mbira and Singing
Africa (South Africa) Nomsa Burkhardt South African Music and Dance
Caribbean (Grand Cayman) Natasha Kozaily Caymanian Song and Folklore
South America (Brazil) Claudia Lyra Brazilian Rhythm, Dance, Capoeira, and Song
South America (Brazil) Ilana Queiroz Brazilian Capoeira Dance and Music
South America (Brazil) Stefanie Schmitz Brazilian Music and Rhythms
Cuba & Brazil Mark Lamson Cuban and Brazilian Drumming
Mexico (Veracruz) Cynthia Carbajal Son Jarocho Jarana
Mexico (Veracruz) Eduardo García Son Jarocho Music and Dance
Europe (Finland) Merja Soria Finnish Folk Music and Dance
Europe (Ireland) Máirtín de Cógáin Irish Songs, Storytelling, and Percussion
Europe (Balkans) Marie Hayes Southeastern European Vocal Music
North America Clinton Davis Traditional American Music
International Kin Ho Folk Dances East and West

2017–2018 Ensembles-in-Residence

Cultures Ensembles Traditions / Activities
India Balabantaray and Friends Odissi Music and Dance
India Sitar and Tabla Duo Classical North Indian Music
Iran Setar Ensemble Persian Classical Music
Indonesia Kembang Sunda Gamelan Degung
Philippines Pakaraguian Ensemble Kulintang Music and Dance
Africa Sene Africa Senegalese Kora Music
Africa Bousso African Company West African Drums and Dance
Africa Zimbeat Zimbabwean and South African Music and Dance
Africa Zimbabwean Mbira Duo Shona Mbira Music
South America Sariri Music of the Andes
Mexico Son de San Diego Mexican Folk Music and Dance
Brazil Nós de Chita Brazilian Music and Dance
Cuba & Brazil Sol e Mar Cuban and Brazilian Music
Spain Espiritu Flamenco Flamenco Music and Dance
Finland Merja Soria and Friends Finnish Folk Music
Eastern Europe Trio Zheni Balkan Vocal Music
Ireland The Gallowglass Collective Irish Music and Dance

Distinguished Visiting Artists, 1979–2017

Teaching Artist Country Art Form Dates
Wayan Sinti Indonesia Balinese Gamelan 1979–1981
Nyoman Astita Indonesia Balinese Gamelan 1982–1983
Wayan Rai Indonesia Balinese Gamelan 1983–1984
Rizaldi Siagian Indonesia Sumatran Drumming 1983–1984
I.M. Harjito Indonesia Javanese Gamelan 1983–1984
K. V. Narayanaswamy India Carnatic Vocal Music 1984-1985
Pak Sarno Indonesia Javanese Gamelan 1985–1986
Rahayu Supanggah Indonesia Javanese Gamelan 1987–1988
Sunarno Purwolelono Indonesia Javanese Dance 1989–1990
Dalang Oemartopo Indonesia Javanese Gamelan 1993–1995
Ephat Mujuru Zimbabwe Shona Mbira 1994–1994
K.P.H. Notoprojo Indonesia Javanese Gamelan 1989–1992
Djoko Walujo Indonesia Javanese Gamelan 1997–2018
Made Lasmawan Indonesia Balinese Gamelan 1990–1992
Komla Amoaku Ghana Ewe Drumming 1994–1995
William Anku Ghana Ewe Drumming 1995–1996
Forward Kwenda Zimbabwe Shona Mbira 1997–1997
Tute Chigamba Zimbabwe Shona Mbira 1998–1998
Cosmas Magaya Zimbabwe Shona Mbira 1998–1998
M. R. Lotfi Iran Persian Setar 1998–1998
Amir Pourjavady Iran Persian Setar 2003–2004
Hossein Omoumi Iran Persian Ney 2003–2003
Nyoman Sumandhi Indonesia Balinese Gamelan 2002–2003
Putu Sutiati Indonesia Balinese Dance 2002–2003
Kwame Degbor Ghana Drumming & Dance 2005–2008
Yudhisthir Nayak India Odissi Dance 2005–2010
Janhabi Behera India Odissi Dance 2008–2009
Amulya Balabantaray India Odissi Dance 2010–2016
Ade Suparman Indonesia Sundanese Gamelan 2011–2013
Nomsa Burkhardt South Africa Zulu Dance 2011–2018
Jacob Mafuleni Zimbabwe Shona Mbira 2012–2013
Martha Thom Zimbabwe Shona Mbira 2012–2013
Jorge Choquehuillca Peru Andean Music 2012–2013
Eduardo “Dudu” Fuentes Brazil Samba Percussion 2017–2018